What Is the Point of View of "The Chronicles of Narnia"?

••• Ablestock.com/AbleStock.com/Getty Images

"The Chronicles of Narnia" is a series of seven children's fantasy novels by C.S. Lewis that first was published in London in the 1950s. All seven books center around adventures that take place in a magical and mysterious land known as Narnia -- a world full of good and evil. Lewis uses third-person point of view to help readers explore multiple characters' experiences.

Third-Person Omniscient

Lewis uses the third-person omniscient narrative style to detail the strange and mystical adventures in Narnia through a variety of characters. Because many of the books have more than one protagonist, Lewis wants readers to explore a wide range of emotions, fears and personal accomplishments. The omniscient voice also allows the reader to sympathize with characters when they lack noble traits or make wrong decisions. Readers get a much bigger and broader picture of the characters' strengths and weaknesses, as well as the eccentricities of creature-filled Narnia than a single perspective could offer.


About the Author

As curriculum developer and educator, Kristine Tucker has enjoyed the plethora of English assignments she's read (and graded!) over the years. Her experiences as vice-president of an energy consulting firm have given her the opportunity to explore business writing and HR. Tucker has a BA and holds Ohio teaching credentials.

Photo Credits

  • Ablestock.com/AbleStock.com/Getty Images